Closely Reading
Closely Reading
Plot talk-through: Chapters 6-9
2
0:00
-51:47

Plot talk-through: Chapters 6-9

Talking through this week's chapters for The Age of Innocence read-a-long
2

I had so much fun talking through this week’s chapters. I don’t script any of this; instead, I just hold the book and flip my way through — calling out what I’ve noticed, what I loved, and where I think a little context may help your reading experience. Apologies for the handful of tangents I go on today :)

In today’s audio, I discuss:

  • Why certain novels lend themselves to closely reading better than others

  • The wide themes that The Age of Innocence allows us to explore

  • The main theme I noticed in this week’s chapters: Newland’s relationship to his reality

  • A detailed discussion of each chapter, including very close readings of key moments

Listen along once you’ve completed this week’s chapters, or use it as a guide to help you get back into the story. It sounds like some readers enjoyed listening to the audio before finishing the reading last week, which was really fun to hear.

If you’re having trouble tracking what happens in each chapter, or understanding lots of the references, use this audio guide to help you find your footing.

And listeners: feel free to start sharing analyses and observations in the comments here, if you’d like to, before the Wednesday guide launches.

For all my visual thinkers, check out my Pinterest board for the novel!

And if you’re eager to read more about or by Edith Wharton, I’ve compiled a reading list over on Bookshop.org.

Enjoying these talk-throughs and our Age of Innocence read-a-long? Consider upgrading to a paid subscription to show your support!

There’s more to come, this Wednesday

‘Til then, happy reading! 📚

2 Comments